Best Picture Nominees


They announced the nominees for Best Picture this morning.  They’re expanding the list to 10 movies, so that they can further dilute the notion of “Nominated For Best Picture” in the service of marketing campaigns.  I’m glad to see Pixar’s Up getting on the list, although I don’t think it is Pixar’s best movie.  And I hate to stereotype a movie I haven’t seen, but… 

 

A Lifetime Original Movie, right?

The Blind Side?  Seriously?  Isn’t that a Lifetime Channel exclusive?  And Sandra Bullock is nominated for Best Actress? 

Sitting in a doctor’s office waiting room, I overheard an Entertainment Tonight-type television show talk about Bullock as taking the title of “America’s sweetheart” from Julia Roberts, who “held it for ten years.”  Besides speaking as if describing a title belt (a funny idea already), I like the idea of Sandra Bullock taking the title of “Julia Roberts” from Julia Roberts.  

At the risk of sounding elitist, I’m going to go all in on The Hurt Locker (which I have seen) being a vastly superior movie in every possible way to The Blind Side.  And I’d say the same about Star Trek.  And probably The Emperor’s New Groove 2: Kronk’s New Groove, which I assume does not contain paternalistic depictions of racial empowerment that make you feel rather queasy.  Which is the impression I got of The Blind Side from watching its trailers. 

Has anybody actually seen The Blind Side?  Can anybody tell me if it’s as bad as I assume it is?  Mostly I wrote this post so I can try this wordpress poll feature. 

3 thoughts on “Best Picture Nominees

  1. Ginger

    I liked the Blindside, but it’s the only movie on your poll that I have seen. It was good, it made me cry a lot, but I’m a girl, so, you know, that’s what happens.

    Reply
  2. Tim

    I’m not sure if I’m supposed to vote for only one or multiple, but District 9 is my favorite on that list. Like you, I feel like Blind Side is ridiculous, but there really haven’t been many quality movies lately – it’s all blockbusters and action movies. That is not to say it should be on there, it’s just to say.

    I saw Hurt Locker again, and I stand by my original sentiment that it’s not very good. Apparently, the voters wanted a modern war movie so badly that they took whatever was offered, but it’s problems are numerous. It’s a movie that never decided what it wanted to be or what it wanted to say. And having also been to a Q&A with the writer (a journalist, unsurprisingly), I can tell you that there’s nothing more substantial lurking behind the scenes. Having been based on a Playboy piece, it’s not that surprising.

    I bet Precious gets the nod.

    Reply
    1. nmirra Post author

      Of the list, I’ve seen Hurt Locker, District 9, Up, Inglorious Basterds, and Avatar. I like them all, although I’d probably put them in that order of descending merit. None of them resonated with me the way some recent Nominees (There Will Be Blood, No Country) have. But I really enjoyed Hurt Locker – I saw it as a visceral depiction of the way things are in Iraq. I’d have to watch it again with an eye towards “what it wanted to say,” but at the time I remember feeling like I had learned something fundamental (one thing being that we’re fucked over there).

      District 9 was really good, but a little too video-gamey for my movie tastes. I liked its unexpected complexity and views on immigration, but it was more like a delicious burger than an elaborate and complicated meal. Tasty and hits the spot, but not the sort of dining experience you’d write home about.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

